Radio Freethinker

Vancouver's Number 1 Skeptical Podcast and Radio Show

New Executive Director of CFI Vancouver

Posted by Ethan Clow on February 11, 2010

Hello everyone,

As I’m sure many of you are already aware of, I have been hired as the new Executive Director of CFI Vancouver. What that means is I will now be responsible for the daily operations of CFI (Centre for Inquiry) in Vancouver, a position that was previously the duty of volunteers.

For the few of you who don’t know what the Centre for Inquiry does, allow me to explain, CFI is a registered educational charity in Canada that promotes skepticism, humanism, separation of church and state and free inquiry. We do this with lectures, events, discussions, conferences, and written periodicals.

CFI is an internationall organization with representation in many different countries and access to international organizations like the UN. While CFI Canada is independent of the other centers, we work together to further our common goals.

Because CFI has access to resources and media contacts, it’s in a great position to make skeptical issues front and centre. There is also considerable effort to reach out and interface with the many skeptical activists in Canada, particularly campus groups like the UBC Freethinkers.

I must say I’m very happy to be part of this organization. I’ve been quite lucky recently with my involvement in Skeptic North and now CFI, not to mention Radio Freethinker, which is moving to an hour long time spot as well! I honestly can’t wait to start planning events and brining in speakers and meeting more great people in the skeptical movement.

So what will we be doing you might ask?

I can’t give you all my plans just yet but expect to see lots of events, lectures and talks by lots of interesting people, discussion groups to debate and consider all sorts of claims, social events where you can make new skeptical friends and expand your mind…just to name a few.

My new role also requires me to convince you to join CFI. Why is that? Well like I said, CFI is a charity, we don’t get any money unless it comes from our members. Few of us actually earn a wage for this and we are very dependent on volunteers and people donating their time and energy. By becoming a member you gain access to discounts on books and magazines, CFI events and conferences, and the knowledge that you are helping an organization promote skepticism and critical thinking.

I really hope you’ll consider becoming a member, in the meantime please don’t hesitate to contact me if you want to donate your time or energy to this organization. We really depend on our community and we honestly want to hear from you, what sort of events do you want? What issues do you want us to confront? You can reach me at eclow@cficanada.ca

I look forward to working with you!

2 Responses to “New Executive Director of CFI Vancouver”

  1. Ian said

    And this is a great place to mention that there’s a student rate of only $20, and that gets you into most CFI events free!

  2. Michael said

    While we are on the topic of membership fees, I recently renewed my CFI membership. $100 gets me the membership renewal, plus a subscription to the Skeptical Inquirer, and a subscription to Free Thought Magazine. If you can afford it, this is a great package price!

Leave a Reply

