Radio Freethinker

Vancouver's Number 1 Skeptical Podcast and Radio Show

TAM Bound

Posted by Ethan Clow on July 13, 2011

If you’re reading this, it means I’ve left for TAM 9, yes that’s the Amazing Meeting 9, hosted by the James Randi Educational Foundation every year in Las Vegas. Each year, skeptics from all over the world gather in Vegas for a huge skeptics in the pub, lots of great talks, and networking up the ying yang. It’s really hard to explain just how much fun TAM is, you really have to see it for yourself.

This year, TAM is expected to draw in over 1400 people. Think about that for a moment. When was the last time you saw 1400 skeptics in one place? (maybe last year at TAM) But probably no where else. Yes, I would even suggest that just for the sheer number of people to meet, TAM is worth the experience. So hopefully a number of our listeners are going and if you bump into me, say Hi! I was hoping to have Radio Freethinker buttons to give away but sadly I couldn’t get them in time. Next year for sure though.

I can’t say who I’m the most excited to see this year. Getting a chance to see Bill Nye the Science Guy is pretty much the best thing ever. I can still remember watching his show for the first time. His show was one of the major influences on my young mind to be one day become a critical thinker. I’m also excited to see Neil deGrasse Tyson, he’s one of the few presenters I’ve never seen give a talk. I’m also looking forward to seeing Jennifer Ouellette, and of course, seeing some of the speakers like Jen McCreight and PZ Myers and Harriet Hall who have visited us in Vancouver will be fun too.

I’m hoping to come back with lots of great content, interviews and stories and the like. Be sure to let me know if there are any special questions you want me to ask speakers!

Leave a Reply

